User management in Google Analytics

Google Analytics offers you the option of creating a separate account for each user. This is particularly useful if you are working on one or more websites with several parties and all want to look into the Analytics account. How you add users, what rights there are and why the whole thing is so practical, you will learn in this article.

Why create different accesses for different users?

Do you already work with several people in one Google Analytics account? Then you know for sure that everyone needs different data. The data for many different websites can be stored in one account. Or maybe not every employee should have access to all data. Or you work with external agencies who are only allowed to access certain properties or data views.

By giving each party or even each employee their own access to analytics, you can decide exactly which data can be seen and which cannot. In addition, not every employee is on the same technical level. By assigning individual user rights to each access, you can prevent users who do not have that much analytics knowledge from accidentally making serious changes to the account. It would be more than annoying if, for example, suddenly, due to the incorrect configuration of a filter, no more data entered the account.

Another advantage is that in the change history you can exactly track which user has made changes to the account settings. Should an error actually occur, it is easier to understand who was responsible and the error can be rectified more quickly. If all users have the same access, this is not possible.

But user groups can also be useful. If you work with several people in a department in the Analytics account, it might make sense to create access for all those involved in this department instead of granting each person individual access. Custom reports , dashboards, links and segments are all stored in the user account. Although you have the option of exchanging (sharing) them between different Google accounts, this is always associated with a certain amount of effort. You will also have to repeat this process if someone joins the group. With a common account, everyone involved always sees the same reports and segments.

However, the group account has a restriction for two functions: In the change log and in the notes, you cannot distinguish the author of the entries for group accounts. If you can get over that, however, the group accounts are recommended.

So think carefully about what data each user needs and what rights you want to give them.

User rights in Google Analytics

The Google account that you used to set up the Google Analytics account automatically has administrative access. This means that you can edit all settings in this account and give other users access. You have the option of granting other users access at the account level, at the property level or for individual data views.

If you grant a user rights at account level, these rights apply to all properties that are assigned to the account. If you allow a user access at property level, this applies to all contained data views. You can also assign the rights individually for individual data views.

Add users

The number of users in the Analytics account is not limited. So you can add as many users as you want.

To add a user, go to the user administration under administration. Select here whether the user should receive rights on account, property or data view level by opening the user management in the corresponding column.

You can manage users at account level, property level and data view level

Click on the plus in the top right corner.

Add users in Google Analytics

Then a form opens in which you enter the e-mail address of the user to whom you want to grant authorization.

Enter the user’s email address

In this step also decides whether the user should receive a corresponding notification by email.

Requirement: Google Account
Every user you want to add must have a Google account  and have been logged into Google Analytics at least once . The e-mail address you enter in the user administration must be assigned to this Google account. So you can’t use just any email address.
If there is no Google account for an e-mail address, the user administration will inform you when you try to enter the address. This will then be shown as an unknown email address.

Below the e-mail address you can set the authorizations for the user. The rights apply to the level you are currently on. You can see all authorization levels in the table below.

The higher levels contain the lower levels. So if you give a user the “Edit” permission, he or she automatically receives the “Collaborate” and “Read and analyze” rights.

Authorization leveldescription
Reading and analyzingThe user can call up and adjust all reports, i.e. filter, create segments, etc. In the administration, the user can view the settings but not change them.
Working togetherThe user can create personal reports and share them with other users. He can store comments in the report.
To editThe user can change the settings in the administration.
Manage usersThe user can add further users and edit the authorizations.

Change user rights

In the user administration on account level you can click on every user entry and you will get an overview of all assigned authorizations. There you also have the option to change the rights for individual properties or data views for other users.

A Google user account can have access to multiple Analytics accounts. In this case you still have to set the authorizations for each account individually in the respective user administration.

If you have administration rights for an account, you cannot withdraw any rights as your own user. However, if you do not have admin rights, you can remove yourself, but you have no access rights to manage other users.

Delete Google Analytics users

Although you have the option to add users at every level of the account, you can only delete them at the account level. To remove a user, go to the user management on account level, select the respective user and click on the dots on the right. Then a window opens in which you select “Remove access rights” to remove the user.

Then you confirm that you want to revoke the access rights for the selected user.

Conclusion

In the user management of Google Analytics you can create different users and assign them rights. This is a good solution for working with many parties, as it gives everyone the data they need and which are of interest to them. Changes to the account settings can be precisely tracked and users who have little experience or should not have authorization can be withdrawn from the right to make changes to the account.

Leave a Reply